love off the cuff

all the angry words,

so thoughtlessly spoken,

were daggers to your heart.

the ripping and tearing

of my sharp teeth and claws

intentionally drew blood

and wounded your beautiful soul

my disregard and arrogance,

my childish tantrums,

gained me nothing

but lonely emptiness, regret, and sorrow.

i chose to be the victim

in this fairy tale I’ve woven.

But i know that’s a lie

that I’ve told to others,

myself,and my bleeding heart.

For, yes, i was the monster,

and forgiveness, not your option.

but i offer you this rose

And I’ve removed the thorns.

Strong yet delicate

and its scent is pure and sweet,

the color, crimson dew,

like a love i’ve left unbroken.

th

Author: moonmaenad

Unskilled Navigator of this ocean we call life..somebody throw me a lifejacket STAT…or a clever and friendly dolphin

Leave a Reply

