The Peacock and the Snail

   
 
Once a snail lived among peacocks,

he thought he was the same.

But looking in a crystal lake

he saw his sad and horned reflection,

and knew that he was ugly,

and oh so very strange.

He saw his curled, fragile shell,

and slimy simple face.

He prayed unto the Goddesss

to swiftly change his fate;

He cried such pained and salty tears,

they dripped upon his skin,

and much to his confused dismay,

he melted ever slowly 

in their briny, bitter rain.

But dreams can be a nightmare,

if only dreamed in vain.

And a snail can never be a peacock,

and that will never change.

Author: moonmaenad

Unskilled Navigator of this ocean we call life..somebody throw me a lifejacket STATโ€ฆor a clever and friendly dolphin

95 thoughts on “The Peacock and the Snail”

      1. awww…my face is da color of a stoplight niw๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜€I’m just glad I have the desire to write and paint at all…usually after a crushing disappointment (a bit hyperbole there๐Ÿ˜‰) I crawl into my shell like dat snail…

      2. what is your particular creative/artistic passion- besides dancing??? tho that is certainly worthy if accolades…๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฝ

      3. I really didn’t think of myself as particularly creative until my hubby encouraged me to put my diary in a blog. Then the words of my lifetime started to swirl and now it’s become a passion.

      4. this past year has been a fertile one for me…actually I just started writing poetry about I yr ago…I know what ya mean tho…I feel like every thought/feeling I’ve ever had is changing from a worm to a butterfly…and breaking free

      5. yup, that’s exactly how I feel..all kinds a stuff is tumbling out and I seem to know how to polish it up…I was an English major in college tho and my instructors were always pushing me to write professionally…but I was waaay to busy partying and dating and recovering…hahaaa

      6. I’m a bit bi-polar, perhaps more like tri-polar, quad-polar ๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚so I go waaaay up…then waaay down..the crash hurts very much, feel I can’t breathe, I have been hospitalized after a suicide attempt-still have the scars on my wrist…but as I’ve matured I have a better grip on it..writing and painting helps…and meditating..

      7. I’m so glad you have found something to help you with the roller coaster. Stay active honey with friends and others to keep smiling! YOU are a necessary part of this world. WE NEED YOU!

      8. Don’t misunderstand me, I love my solitude and I think its healing for all of us to spend time alone with our thoughts. I was meaning that I think it’s important that we have relationships – close, communal relationships to keep us from allowing the darkness to swallow us up alone. If that makes any sense at all.

      9. yes..it makes completely beautiful sense..if u stay alone too long u lose a connection with life and spirit that leaves u on the sea alone w/out a life raft

      10. and yes, I do live my solitude too…very much..but I’m very gregarious too…I was da party girl/comedian…still am a bit if a comedian…da best clowns cry alone…

      11. And I totally understand that. I was that way in my 30s and still retain a bit of that need to isolate. But I never disengage from those I love in my life now – I need them to keep strong.

      12. I hope I’m not making u u comfortable…I’m very ok talking about it..not ashamed or nothin…I’m generally I very open spirit…it’s too much fkn work pretending…and it’s a very effective litmus test for new friends and paramours…heheeee

      13. Its the pretending that I find brings on the blues. Let your true self fly baby girl – scars and all! This world likes to sing of “love” but puts a restriction on the notes we want to hear.

        You will find I love ALL of the notes you unique creatures called people sing – the good, bad and the ugly.

        What kind of love is only comfortable in the sunshine? A fair-weathered and useless kind seems to me.

      14. I love what u said here…this is real, honest poetry…the only really beautiful kind…and u can only recognize light if u been in da dark..right?? and vice versa

      15. A real one! Our first son died at seven days old. I was 18 years old and I sat and rocked him after he passed. It changed me forever. And contrary to the people around me – I found love in the act. Jesse (that was his name) taught me true love in seven short days.

      16. No apologies love. That’s the beauty of being free – we can talk about anything we want to.

        I am still married to my high school sweetheart (Beloved) and Jesse was our first son. We have one other son who is 35 – he was critically injured in a car accident at 17 and has a traumatic brain injury.

        He’s a wonderful young man but has to fight everyday to stay positive. So, sweetheart when I tell you I understand the darkness – it is the truth.

      17. u make me realize how truly blessed I’ve been…sometimes I need to be reminded of that…and I love u fir sharing something so intensely personal…I’m glad u trusted me with it..I’m very sensitive, a bit empathic, according to a psychic…I feel everything, all the energies around me but I wouldn’t if I couldn’t handle it..it is a blessing more than a curse..

      18. That is why I believe we are all drawn to the same places at the right time. It’s a natural conversation to have with you darling. It’s the way life and energy flow when we let it.

        You are a blessing!

      19. u r my blessing…I needed to hear everything u r saying tonight…I have been struggling with some broken relationships and hurting very much..your perspective is very soothing and healing…I always feel so broken after break ups..like I have failed so miserably

      20. ok, my friend…get some sleep…goddess bless u and keep u and show u more love and divine grace…nite nite Rita u r a shaft if bright light in my nomad cave๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜ธโ˜€๏ธ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ…๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ

      21. โค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™ I threw in a few octopuses for good measure. Love ya’

      22. NOOOO…No kill .com version, tho I’m not entirely sure what dat is…I’m sure .com means well, it may simply be a bit rebelious๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ™€๐Ÿ˜Žand need a proper hug…

      23. yes…that must be it…and I heard .com has been lovin the mango martinis ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿธa bit more than they should ๐Ÿ™€๐Ÿ˜ฟ๐Ÿ˜ผ๐Ÿ˜ธ

      24. Gonna go for a hike in a bit..I got one more mountain to climb…last time I got stung by a bee out dere…gotta watch out for dem, they can b quite angry and unpredictable ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ

      25. Well, darling I must go to sleep now. I’ve been awake since 3am this morning and I have to work tomorrow.

        I hope to have my blog cleaned by the weekend and I have install a chat function so that folks can chat with each other. I hated Facebook and wanted a place for us to have deeper conversations anytime we felt like it with anyone we felt like.

        So, I send my love to you right now and pray you have sweet and restful dreams tonight. I’ll see you back online tomorrow evening I’m sure.

      26. I cannot imagine the grief u must’ve felt๐Ÿ˜“๐Ÿ˜ฅ๐Ÿ˜จ๐Ÿ˜ฐ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญthat is a terrible loss to experience…my heart and soul goes out to u..๐ŸŒน๐ŸŒน๐ŸŒน

      27. It’s the hardest lesson of all. It seems the negativity is easier to cultivate than to practice true forgiveness. When our second son was injured it was by a drunk driver and (I do believe in God by the way) it was a voice so strong inside that challenged me to FORGIVE.

        I was moved to investigate the meaning and when I realized I was being pushed to Drop All Charges – it was painful but it totally set me free of the pain and anger.

      28. I am so amazed by u…stunned actually. I believe in the Goddess, the feminine face of God…I was a 7th day Adventist for most of my life but when I came out, realized my sexuality, I had to see religion differently than how I was raised or face their fact that I was gonna burn in hell…I hope that doesn’t disturb u, but I have to b honest..I always knew I was gay but pushed it down till college..

      29. awww…big hugs to u and sending my love vibes over the mountains…xoxo๐Ÿ—ป๐ŸŒ‹๐ŸŒŒ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŒ›๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒœthank u for your beautiful words and warm heart…

      30. here’s some kisses and hearts for u too,hon…๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹โค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ•๐Ÿ•๐Ÿ•๐Ÿบ๐Ÿป๐Ÿบ๐Ÿป๐Ÿฉ๐Ÿฉoops…how’d dat beer, pizza, and donuts get in dere??? well, let’s have a picnic then, ok???๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

      31. I just wish I’d been as driven back in the day…but..I think I’m better now..aged like fine moscato๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐ŸทI love miscato๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜‹

      32. You weren’t ready! I don’t regret the things of my past, I see them as lessons I needed to learn to get where I am today. Now I’m ready to say what I feel. I wouldn’t have done this even ten years ago.

    1. yeh…I think they r cute actually…but the metaphor works for me…and the msg…never try to be something u aren’t..it can only bring frustration and disappointment…

      1. This is so true.. And in the end we can only ever be ourselves. Great post. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ you’ve made me think..

      2. and feel too??i hope…I’ve been where that snail is too many times to count..usually lured by some lovely yet duplicitous, narcissistic bait…avoid that bait at all costs…

      3. awww…Amber…thank u so much…I’m stumbling and fumbling my way thru life too..makin waaay more mistakes than I’m comfortable with..but, the wounds heal and scars r reminders, points of reference…guiding stars, if u will…that u carry with u, some scars r clearly visible, some remain slightly hidden, but they all r a map of where u been, where ya r, and where ya need to go…๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ and sometimes we all need a helpful companion, to help us on our journey๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ˜บ

Leave a Reply

