The Spy

  
Frowning Brown eyes

Cloudy surreptitious

Darting, Scrambling

Condemning suspicious.

Prying, scowling

Endless peeping,

Crawling in my nomad lair;

My rumpled mind and tousled asps,

 medusa’s hair.

Invasions of all artifice

In ears, throat-

every empty orafice,

Disturbing ever floating 

Spinning atoms.

Her constant questions,

Mean and obvious suggestions..

Demands intrigue.

Lured yet fearful

What she cannot touch

And dare not see..

Biting, tearing salty skin-

A hornets nest 

With angry bees.


Author: moonmaenad

Unskilled Navigator of this ocean we call life..somebody throw me a lifejacket STAT…or a clever and friendly dolphin

63 thoughts on “The Spy”

  1. My god. this one was awesome seriously.
    I actually leaned forward towards the screen with every line… (but I shot back in the end.. i’m apiphobic, the sorts i mean. )lol.
    but seriously. damn good.

    1. U r very sweet..just today I was reading poems I haven’t posted and just found them falling short in every way…there r days when u r a savage critic of your own material…but I’m planning on making some major life changes so that comes with the territory…every thing gets terribly shakey and insecure..

      1. I’m very critical of myself too… my work, my behavior, looks, speech… everything. But sometimes, I guess you need to know that no body could have done better that you in your place.
        Because you’re created for this place such that no one else can fit in better. And you’re awesome as what you are.
        At least I like to tell myself that when I know I have stuff that needs to be done alone.
        Alone.. is something that we all need. to realise what we are capable of.. minus the past, the identities, the opinions of other people…
        what’s my own worth when i stand all alone… is what one needs to know.

        and in my opinion… you are a natural when it comes to words and poetry. (i have secretly been admiring you for a long time now)
        and such words and thoughts can only come from a deep, understanding and well structured mind.

      2. well now you know, but I used to read and re read your work.
        Okay.
        here.. i’ll tell you.
        I think i’m a bit… somewhat like you.
        I’m that friend who makes everyone laugh and crack intelligent jokes.. stuff.
        But I have this… really deep philosophical side to me…
        like you, you know. As much as ive learnt from the words you write.

        I admire these two qualities in a person.. being hilarious and fun … and being poetic and deep.
        It’s rare.

        I knew i was like that… and then i found you yayayy.

      3. Now I’m blushing😳☺️😊thank u very much..your observations r all very true..u read me very well..most people really don’t..call me “esoteric”

      4. I love to laugh…and there is such a freakin dearth of material all around..sometimes I tease other writers cuz they get too serious about everything, I have to laugh or I’ll cry

      5. but in MPD, the one side is not aware about being the other.
        In my case.. im aware of having this bipolar nature. For you too i guess..
        MPD is a very disturbing psychological disorder…ive read some cases ad they left me unable to speak for several hours…

      6. Precisely..the woman who asked me this considers herself a well educated writer…πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚but I was making fun of her observation and said something like “well, u outta meet all 27 of em…jojo is a complete sociopath and speaks thru microwaves..” I was kidding but she believed me!!! “It’s your deadpan delivery, it confused me…gotta say, what a dope!

      7. oh haha… People called me schizophrenic… and I joked a lot about it..
        Until well.. my psychology teacher got serious about it and asked me to stop them jokes.
        I still joke anyway.

      8. With MPD the different aspects see themselves distinctly separate.. Yes, I am bi-polar, tri-polar, quad polar…I am moody too..I don’t hate being bi-polar..live the highs, but the lows r difficult..like Mr. Toads wild ride..how long have u been aware u r bi-polar?

      9. I’m not diagnosed bipolar. Not clinically diagnosed.
        But i’ve been like this since forever.

        If you go ask people about me.. some will say “chirpy, bubbly, prankster, adorable.. yada yada. ”
        and some will say ” deep, and philosophical and moody, depressed, sad, gloomy, poetic.. ”
        so there. idk what i am… guess im both.

      10. Me too!!! This is getting very interesting..all my friends recognize my amazing sense of humor and live it too..but I am very moody too.. Depressed, diagnosed fir that..was hospitalized years ago for suicide attempt..sensitive too..that’s part if where ur moodiness cones from..I think. U may see and feel everything around u, I do..most people have blinders on

      11. I will..don’t worry.. Omg..honey, I understand…I tried so many ways to kill myself..it’s not exactly self harming but it ain’t self-helping..it’s all self-torture…please send me your gmail address…ok??? My email is sgkafka@sbcglobal.net..msg me anyrime

      12. youre so kind. thank you.
        I will. And there more than these things that i want to talk to you with.. you’re such a kindred spirit… and youre… you make me smile.
        thank you.
        I dont know how i will ever pay you back.

      13. Re: well structured mind…yes, I’m very analytical.. Have always Ben so..friends tell me it interferes with my ability to feel.. No, I just want to understand…don’t u?? I’m not the only one.. Am I??

      14. well…
        I said this to some one yesterday, and i’ll repeat… Humans break down when reason and emotion conflicts.
        So either one must know how to balance… or choose between the two.. always been difficult for me.

        I’m being mostly analytical sorts know… but my heart here has launched a severe non-cooperation movement.

      1. Devisi. Yeah, I’m a proud indian.. sadly unlike most people of my age who are actually ashamed of being so.

        There is a goddess, named Durga… my name is one of the many synonyms of Durga.
        Literally, it translates to ‘the chief of all goddesses’. Sanskrit origin. Pronounced as.. D-AE-V-I-S-I.

        I meant to keep my identity hidden on WP. So, i called my complexlyme…
        but since… okay. haha.

      2. Omg..I listen to Indian music, often performed by westerners..I love it. The chants in these songs mention Durga..do u have a Twitter site or other social media..us like to send u some links..it’s very beautiful music

      3. sometimes… i’m curious about myself too. I mean.. when i read my old poems and diaries… i find it so strange that ive actually written this.
        I havent quite understood myself yet.

        but thank you πŸ™‚ that’s gonna be the best thing I hear this day.

      4. U know, I crack jokes just like u too..u can see that here..but clowns are generally serious, but we need a release valve..and I enjoy laughing and playing so much

      5. It’s a sense of relief meeting u..so often I feel completely alone-even around my friends..I feel sometimes like I’m talking a different language… But I understand everything u say here..u r a girl/woman of substance, sweetie..and no I rarely sleep..if I get 2-3 hrs I’m good..

      6. same here. I sleep for about three.
        thank you…
        I feel nice talking to you…
        you’re arent half as scary as most strangers..
        but youre not even a stranger now. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        What may I call you?
        And how old are you? Where do you live? Temmee!! hahaha.. I like you so much.

      7. U can call me Susan or Melanie..people call me both…my first name is Melanie but I’ve gone by Susan all my life…the irony is melanie means black in Greek, Susan means Lily in Jewish language…so I’m Black Lilly—perfectly morbid huh??? Hahaaa…I am to be honest I’m in my 30’s..that’s all u need to know..much older than u–I hope that doesn’t make u uncomfortable… But I can’t help when I was born and neither can u.. But I think I can help u get thru this rough patch..ok?? I’m a natural counselor..u don’t owe me a thing… It’s my pleasure to know u and learn about u

      8. of course it doesnt make me uncomfortable.
        Im so happy to know you too.
        Well im only seventeen.
        And black lily is just… awesome. I wish I had some super cool name too, Im just stuck with plain devisi. blah.

      9. Noooo… I love your name…it’s unique and has a certain spiritual foundation..dats good stuff,,,ok??? Honestly, I don’t feel much more mature than 17..I don’t think many adults really do–they sure don’t act like it, do they??? At your age I was in a freakin tsunami of emotions…I used to bang my head against the wall till it bled

      10. Sometimes I’d strangle myself with ropes just to feel suffocation and discomfort..I stabbed myself in the leg a few times…I just couldn’t do the razor thing…somehow I made it thru with really good friends and growing acceptance that it was ok to feel different than others–u r artistic sweetheart, it comes with the territory it should I say, “terror-Tory”…πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚πŸ˜³

      11. No..it’s not pathetic…don’t ever say that about yourself..u were expressing some very deep pain in the only way that seemed to work for u…I’m here fir u no matter what but I want u to speak to a professional as well, I don’t want u hurting yourself anymore than u r..can u see a psychologist it counselor?? U have light in u it u would not be reaching out to me…understand..stop that train of thought now!! I don’t know what is going on in your family but I want u to tell me, ok?? I want to remind u of what u already know but is buried beneath accumulated pain and disappointments..I am here and I will listen..do not hurt yourself, or animal, or plant tonight–ok?? Hurt no one tonight…Just tonight…we’ll work thru tomorrow when it comes…one day, one he, one minute at a time…listen to me..u r loved, u r needed, u have gifts to offer no one else can–please don’t deprive us of thatπŸ˜πŸ˜•πŸ˜”πŸ˜“hang on to every word I say..I found u, I’ve got your hand, I won’t let u go πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŽπŸ’ͺ🏾πŸ’ͺ🏾πŸ’ͺπŸΎπŸ‘ŒπŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ’–πŸ’—πŸ’œ

      12. I live in California..about 2 hrs from the beach so I spend a lotta time there..the ocean heals my soul and brings me joy..are u still here? Or busy? Well, I’m here or on email when u need to talk..I will erase the sensitive stuff as soon as I figure out howπŸ˜³πŸ™€but don’t worry I will..πŸ™πŸΌπŸ˜ŽπŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒˆπŸŒŒπŸŒ‹πŸŒŠπŸŒŠπŸŒŠ

      1. you call me Devisi.
        that’s my name.

        Well, it’s three thirty here.. afternoon.
        yeah I’m really really very much afraid of them.
        yikes..bee farm?. gives me goosebumps.

      2. Indian.
        It’s the name of a goddess.
        And yeah, it’s rare here too. Haha, Ive not come across another devisi in my life.
        No wonder my name doesnt appear on those key chains and badges…

      3. U r unique boo…that’s one of the things I like about u..and real goddesses r seldom found on key chains or badges..buuutttt I’m working on someπŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜Š

      4. It’s 3:10 am here but I’m a night owl..he had bee hives on his farm..it scared the crap outta me at first but if u don’t bother them they’ll leave u alone…

  2. U have a delicate yet precise writing style-like a prosaic surgeon, lil boo–in some ways u remind me of Sylvia Plath..one of my favesπŸ˜πŸ˜™πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ΈπŸ˜ΈπŸ˜ΈI can learn much from u too

    1. muey buen graciasπŸ˜‰πŸ˜ƒI live w/a woman whose head is apparently filled with espionage…wrote it as she was creeping up and down the hall, sneaking peeps in my nomad lair… true story…πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜ΉπŸ˜ΉπŸ˜ΉπŸ˜ΉπŸ˜΅

      1. I love your butterfly tears…but I envy u outgrowing what r considered youthful confusions…I’ve not reached that pinnacle of awareness..I’m not sure we ever do tho…life is nothing if not change..constant, unavoidable change…we r all surfers/swimmers learning how to ride the wavesπŸ˜‰πŸ˜ŽπŸŒŠπŸŒŠπŸŒŠ

Leave a Reply

