Autumn

Autumn I embrace 

with no pompous,

absurd demands,

nor curious, chafed resentments

no pathetic, defiled expectations.

There is balance between hidden shadows 

and prying light

and trembling sweet evocations.

Its calmness shimmers , damp, and cool

as the comfort of my sacred lair;

the rustle of wind blown,  

 whispered leaves

in impish dance 

upon craggy asphalt streets.

In silent rumination,

parsing my compass 

from the charging path of three unbridled,

 

  instinctual geldings.

And reaching the sky electric,

the arms of the moon forgiving.

My harvest is beginning,

My peace is growing

Demeter’s scythe is sharpened

to slash the ragged weeds 

from an unruly, 

far too lonely garden.

I join the circle,

the living

 and dying cycle.

I rise in the fall,

I rise as I fall

and return again,

only to Her.


Author: moonmaenad

Unskilled Navigator of this ocean we call life..somebody throw me a lifejacket STATā€¦or a clever and friendly dolphin

Leave a Reply

