Lived to Tell

  
 To love 

to offer all

even what you don’t possess,

to dancing, split tongued, angry serpents.

They sing,

they hiss

and whisper “bliss.”

Magicians conjure mighty dreams;

much is heard

but seldom seen.

Weaving, preening,

shadows slide hypnotic-

rhythms deep

and sweetly toxic,

Undulate against the pale.

Sparkling, iridescent scales,

pop like stars in empty skies.

This, my dear, is just a lie.

They stalk the place 

where there is no time,

no form or space.

Endless victims 

on which they feast,

They hunt like hungry, savage beasts;

drain your blood

through razored sieve,

yet never have a drop to give.

they rape your mind, 

your heart,

your soul.

and once they start

there’s no control.

And no regrets,

and less remorse

for you were just another course,

another meal on which they dined,

another savored, vintage wine.

That place they roam

and love so well

is just another living hell

thru which I walked

but lived to tell.

Author: moonmaenad

Unskilled Navigator of this ocean we call life..somebody throw me a lifejacket STAT…or a clever and friendly dolphin

12 thoughts on “Lived to Tell”

    1. Awww..Ogden my head is too big as it is🙀thank u again, it pleases me greatly that u r pleased..this one woke me at 1:00 am, my muse was out partying again it seems😖

  1. LOL not literally! Or rather, yes literally! You woke me up from my daydreaming! Its a great write, classical themes – u use them real well, and you have a great talent at it too – u r – when it comes down to it, Awesome!!!!! 🙂

    1. now u r making me blush☺️you r my favorite follower and always get it…I appreciate your support and accolades more than u know…I’m very self critical…but at some point u just express your thoughts and feelings as best u can and point and click “publish”…funny u talk about printing a collection cuz I was just thinking of that yesterday…(self-published o course) you will get the first copy😉😺😸👍🏽👌🏽

    1. Awww…thanks cubbers..this one woke me at 1:00 am😁😖😨so I had to write it all down…I’m sooo glad u like it..your opinion means so much..luv ya cubbers💝

Leave a Reply

