Widow’s Cage

Silent spiders glide in menace,

singing on their crystal veins,

spinning silk with vague disclosures,

  tattered lies and dust for thread.

Prayers she weaves at rakish angles,

  (dreams that squirm 

    and fears that dangle)

Crumbling cisterns froth with rage.

Walls that hide a broken faucet-

   rusting lonely,

   Widow’s cage.

Whispered panic,

banal proverbs-

cracks that map your fragile shell…

blind and crippled

  not forgotten,

crawling slowly,

little snail.

Heart that bleeds into another,

 buried hope that she betrays.

Fearful of the legs she stands on-

Pious gravity obeyed.

Monumental crises auctioned,

 fixations that soothe her  pain.

Cloistered within dark distractions-

  she should leave,

  but must remain.

Author: moonmaenad

Unskilled Navigator of this ocean we call life..somebody throw me a lifejacket STATโ€ฆor a clever and friendly dolphin

12 thoughts on “Widow’s Cage”

    1. Hi, lil sis๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผglad I wowed u, but do u like it??? How r u?? I’ve missed u terribly๐Ÿ˜–how r u??? I have insomnia clearly๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฐ

    1. Thanks Ogden!! Ur approval is important to me. I confess..ive been so busy with family commitments and the presidential election lately, poetry and art has taken a backseat…

      1. Thank you, thats very good to hear, I really enjoyed this piece, it weaves as one reads onward, by the end its complete! Very clever – another for the book, should it ever come out (which it ought) Love the emotions you post too! ๐Ÿค˜๐Ÿป๐Ÿค–๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜‡

      2. Ogden-I’m thinking of printing my own book of poetry…if u have the time can u please recommend which poems u think will be most apropos in the final draft???

  1. Wonderful and beautiful post. Your comment on my blog won’t, for some strange reason, let me respond it shows up in my e-mail but no where else. I think being a citizen of the world makes perfect sense. If we all did that there wouldn’t be a need for what’s going on.

    1. My sentiments exactly…I’ve always thought nationalism and patriotism is counterproductive…it creates unnecessary isolation…and creates bigotry and leads to territorial aggression

      1. i grew up in a “patriotic” family and saw the hate and disdain, arrogance and dismissiveness it inspired even as a child–so I decided tho I want things to be improved here, I understand (like the domino effect) if this country is honest, free, at peace and happy, it will impact the entire world ๐ŸŒŽ

Leave a Reply

